Thanks for the guest post by Donn Schroeder

My favorite show, Spartacus, has been between seasons for a while now. It really is a sad story because the lead actor, Andy Whitfield, recently died of cancer after the first season. This man was an amazing actor and I really thought that they would cancel the series due to this. He was the show. Spartacus is about a man who is captured into slavery and forced to fight in the gladiator games of ancient Rome. He rises up from nothing to be the ultimate champion of the games. While still a slave he gains favor with his master and respect among his fellow gladiators. This show is very violent and action packed, it’s my kind of show. While browsing my DIRECTV I saw a commercial for season 2. While I was saddened with the death of Andy, I was very pleased to hear that they recast his role and decided to continue with the series. I hope that the new actor replacing him is half of the actor he was, because this show has the potential to be a huge hit.